Profile Picture of Amber Widman from Life On Knoll 22 and the HomeKeeper Podcast

Hi, I’m Amber!

Welcome to Knoll 22, our acreage in the hills of western Iowa. It is here that I’ve begun the journey of returning to a simpler home and family centered life, and learning skills new and old, many of which are being lost through the generations.

My husband and I been married over 10 years, and have 4 kids, two girls and two boys.

It was always our dream to raise our kids in the country, like my husband and I were, so in 2019 we bought almost 6 acres just outside the city. It was a fixer upper, that had been abandoned for several years. The first year we spent cleaning up piles of junk, pulling rusty fencing, and tearing down unsafe structures around the acreage. We also have spent the last 3 years completely redoing our 1970’s ranch, which still boasted the original shag carpet, glittery popcorn ceiling, and a green and gold bathroom.

I firmly believe the two most important things in life are faith and family.

After deciding to follow Jesus at a young age, my belief in the truth of the Bible has shaped and seasoned every part of my life. It has molded me into who I am today in inexpressible ways, the extent of which I will never fully know. It is because of my Biblical worldview that I live in the way that I do….caring for the land and animals, prioritizing staying home with my kids, and seeking to positively impact others. The age old knowledge of times before, and the way we were created to be, guides my thinking as I see many of the new ideas in modern society pulling us away from the way I believe we were intended by God to live.

Some Fun Facts About Me…

I am a certified SCUBA diver.

My husband and I are liscensed foster parents in our state.

I joined our local SERT (Student Emergency Response Team) in High School. We may or may not have trained with the local SWAT team.

When I was a child, I watched a space shuttle launch from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

I love architecture, specifically houses from the turn of the century, and it’s on my bucket list to have a house I design actually be constructed. I play around with blue print ideas in my head and draw them on graph paper just for fun.

I can say the alphabet backwards. A real claim to fame, I know.

My earliest memories are from when I was only 3 years old. I have several from age 3, including pulling into the parking lot of the hospital when my baby brother was born (I was 3 yrs and 2 months old). What can I say? My dad gave me a coloring book and there was a balloon involved. Those things stick with you!

My first job in high school was working for a stone monument company…

…(yes, like the ones that sell tombstones), and subsequently I was able to help design my grandparents headstone and sketch drawings for several others.

The monument company owners, also bred Labrador Retriever dogs for hunting, and I would help with animal daily care, monitor newborn puppies, and teaching basic obedience (which I learned through the dog program in 4-H).

I started college as a Chemical Engineering major, but graduated with a degree in Environmental Science, with an emphasis in Chemistry, and a Ministry Certificate. Sometimes, I wish I would have stuck with engineering, but I did gain a lot of knowledge of the natural world that I can now use in my everyday life.

I’ve also held down some other unique jobs over the years, such as working at a vineyard & winery, interning in a DNR program studying aquatic invasive species and bats, learning flowers & design at a European style florist, cash handling and front end management as a head cashier at a tool store, and even some time as a “professional” painter after college. I also started my own wedding and event coordinating business before I got into blogging. Sometime when I’m talking with people it feels like I pretty much “used to do” almost everything. I guess you could call me a Jacquline of all trades.

I grew up in Wisconsin,…

…the daughter of two parents who had grown up on farms. My mom and grandmothers taught me to can & preserve food, sew, garden, bake, and craft. My dad is an inventor at heart and as a professional contractor he taught me how to build, design, and think outside the box.

Growing up I always had a love for animals and nature, specifically water since much of my life I lived on the lake or river, and we often went on family fishing and camping trips. Did I mention I LOVE water? I mean, I was a marine science minor for one semester…..

I guess you could say I have a “dream job” bucket list.

What you’ll find here is my attempt to hone in on just a few of my interests, experiences, and skills. This space was born out of a desire for expression and sharing what I know with YOU!

Life is never short of something to learn or explore. If you want homemade, homegrown, and a little bit of unconventional, you’ve come to the right place.

Thanks for joining me!

Life on Knoll 22

Photo Credit: Brooklyn Gebers – In All Things Photography